Hello everybody!

I’m so excited because this is my first attempt at doing a make-up review! Ideally I would have preferred to make a video on YouTube because I’m so inspired by some of the YouTubers I’m subscribed to. However, with my current rooming situation, it wouldn’t be the easiest thing in the world so blogging is my second best option. If you are interested in checking out my favorite beauty/fashion YouTubers, I have linked them here: Michelle Phan, Zoella, Tanya Burr and SoYoung. Let’s get started!

NYX haul
First NYX Purchase!

Last Month, Ulta had a week of sales on NYX products which everything was 50% off. NYX isn’t pricy to begin with and with the discount, I only spent ~ $2.69 to $4.79 for each item. I have heard a ton of wonderful things about NYX products, so I HAD to check them out! The nearest Ulta was about 15 minutes away from campus, which seems like an alright commute – but because the bus schedule is so spread out over the weekends, the cold weather and mostly me being a lazy bum, I decided to get ’em online. One thing you have to know about the public buses in Ann Arbor is that all of the bus stops are open air. There aren’t any of those heated waiting rooms so can you imagine going out in temperatures in the negative 10 degrees celsius range? Anyway~

NYX Yogurt Jumbo Pencil

The Jumbo Eye Pencils are my favorite out of my entire purchase. There are so many colors to choose from and I ended up picking the shade Yogurt. It’s a coppery-rose goldenly shade and so pretty on the lids. The color deposit is really great and it goes on very smoothly. If you want it to last longer, put on eye shadow primer prior to application. I would apply this to the center of my eyes as an eyeshadow and at the corner of my eyes (near the tear ducts) for highlighting purposes. I am IN LOVE with this Jumbo eye pencil because it’s an absolutely gorgeous color and has awesome quality.

NYX Milk Jumbo Pencil

The next thing that I got was another Jumbo Eye Pencil in the shade milk, which is a basic white color. Like the Yogurt color, this goes on very easily on the lids and you can use it for multiple purposes! I like to apply it on the waterliner to brighten up my eyes and occasionally at the corner of my eyes to highlight.

NYX Creme Brulee

The NYX butter gloss is another product that many people rave about. I actually forgot I got this, that’s why it’s not in the main photo. I got this in Creme Brulee – a pinkish nude shade. The first thing that caught my attention was how amazing it smells. I would totally lick it if lip glosses are edible. But other than that, the I’m neutral towards the butter gloss. It’s supposed to be a mixture of gloss and balm so it’s more moisturizing for your lips but I find that this still dries out my lips so I would only use it for special occasions. I’d stick to my Burt’s Bees lip balm since it’s so cold and dry around here.

NYX Born to glow

I wanted to try a luminator in general so I got this one from NYX. To be honest, I don’t really like the finishing look of this luminator. I wanted to use it as a highlighter on cheekbones but there is too much visible glitter in it that makes your cheeks look sparkly instead of nicely shaped. If you find other ways to use this, let me know!
NYX Setting Spray

This is the NYX Setting Spray with a Dewy Finish. It is one of the products I kind of regret getting. I could return it, but it’s too much effort to commute with the wind biting off my nose and ears. It does its job pretty nicely – I had it on for my Arts Chorale concert and my make-up lasted the entire night with no smudges whatsoever. However, the 2 times I sprayed this on, my skin became very irritated. It literally felt like tiny ant bites on my chin and cheeks. I’m not sure if it’s just me, but I would recommend spending slightly more on a better quality product.

That concludes my haul on NYX products! Please note that this post is not sponsored so all opinions expressed are solely mine. Hope you enjoyed this post! Thanksgiving is coming up in less than a week and I can’t wait to get some Turkey in my tummy. Stay warm and sheltered, it’s going to be a long winter this year.

Cheers,

Lx

