Current Music Favorites

Hello everybody,

Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving break! A quick post before I get back to studying for Finals. It’s that wonderful time of the year again.

So I have been working on Calculus homework, readings, papers and doing some studying these few days so MUSIC has been my staple. Taylor Swift’s new album 1989 was just released, One Direction has been releasing some singles in anticipation of their Four album and so many new artists are coming into the picture. It’s so exciting! Here are some of the songs that I have been looping for eternality. I have linked the youtube videos to the titles of the songs.

1. Somebody to You by The Vamps featuring Demi Lovato

I first heard this song on The Ellen Degeneres Show. It was a catchy song, and sounded like it could be a potential hit like One Direction’s What Makes You Beautiful. I didn’t think much of it at that time but I suddenly found myself singing it a week later and I was like – What is that song?? So I got hooked after that. It’s a light-hearted song, has a nice beat to it so check it out!

2. Out of the Woods – by Taylor Swift

Taylor’s songs are always pretty relatable and her signature narrative lyrics are featured here again. This song is rumored to be about Harry Styles. To be honest, I don’t really care. We all draw inspirations from our daily lives and usually, the artistic products are not 100% reflective of our real lives. I love the backing vocals of this song. It is slightly heart-wrenching, bittersweet, a good mixture of emotions that is not simply about love. “Remember when you hit the brakes too soon, Twenty stitches in a hospital room” – Do you know, this is actually true! Taylor did get into a car accident, although we don’t know if it’s with a boy or not. What’s amazing is no media got hold of this information, which is pretty cool considering all the false rumors out there.

3. Welcome to New York – by Taylor Swift

Another one by Taylor! I have nothing much to say about this except that it’s catchy, and I love New York.

4. Night Changes – by One Direction

I never understand why the most popular songs of One Direction are not pretty/ sweet songs like this one! I’m not an obsessed fan and I do genuinely care about the song/ lyrics/ melody so this is a good one from them. Very soothing~

5. We all Want the Same Thing – by Rixton

Rixton is one of my favorite new bands! All of them are really talented – having played piano, guitar and drums for years. The lead singer, Jake, also has an AMAZING voice. When Jake started off singing this song in head voice, I was like, very nice. But when he continued for the rest of the song, I was shocked. I’m pretty sure my mouth was agape. I love the silly little dance he does in the middle of the song. I basically love all the singles they released, especially Hotel Ceiling, Speakerphone and Appreciated.  

That’s it folks, hope you enjoy the songs and good luck for finals. If you don’t have any, enjoy the night. The holidays are in sight!

Lx

Leave a Reply

