How to celebrate Christmas by yourself

Merry Christmas everyone!

Merry Christmas

Christmas may be the happiest time of the year, but for some, it can also be the loneliest. As an international student, I have to spend many holidays away from my family. I would wake up to an empty campus with no malls, restaurants open, and no buses running. It was as if the whole world was united with their families, happy, and celebrating the holidays.  At the beginning, such longing would overwhelm me but as time passed, it became easier to go through life, festivities and all, alone.

If you are like me, spend Christmas pampering yourself! Make an effort to be as festive as you can instead of slouching around, because trust me – it will make you feel a lot better. This is what I would do on Christmas.


1. NICE WARM SHOWER 

IMG_6898

Start off your day with a nice warm shower. Use a body scrub to exfoliate dead and dry skin, and finish off with a moisturizing body butter. This will make you feel refreshed to start off the day with a BANG!

Here I have the minus 417 body scrub and body butter. The body scrub is made from salt from dead sea. Each tub can last you for a very long time! 

2. FACE MASK

face mask

Your face needs some loving too! There are generally four types of face masks. Hydrating face masks are great for replenishing moisture to dry skin. Anti-aging face masks function to tighten and firm your skin, reducing wrinkles and fine lines. Clarifying face masks draw out oil and dirt from your pores, reducing pore size. Last but not least, brightening/ whitening face masks are popular in Asia where fairer and brighter skin tones are largely sought after. Put on your favorite face mask before going through your skin care routine and your skin is all set!

I have the Innisfree Super Volcanic Pore Clay Mask from Korea. This face mask makes my skin feel AMAZING after washing off. It’s made from natural ingredients found on Jeju Island where as the name suggests, volcanos are.

3. PUT ON SOME CLOTHES

outfits Put on some clothes! ’nuff said.

4. AROMA

Fragrance

Pick a scent that makes you feel happy. If you’re feeling extra Christmasy, light a Christmas scented candle. Aromatherapy works! I would love to have a candle but my apartment rules don’t allow. It’s alright though, I’m enjoying this 99c vanilla fragrance from Walgreens.

5. DELICIOUS DINNER

sparkling grape juice

As most probably everywhere is closed, be sure to stock up on food or pre-packed food! (sorry, it might be slightly too late now, but you can still try for delivery). It’s important to fill your belly with goodness on this special day, be it steak and mashed potatoes (oh gosh, I tried so hard to find some instant mash but it’s no where to be found) or random plates of your favorite food. Top it up with your favorite drink!

I am most probably going to make hotpot. It’s easy, and oh so yummy! And of course sparkling grape juice is going to make its appearance on my dinner menu. Mine is from Trader Joe’s. 

6. DESSERT

IMG_6887

What is a holiday without some dessert? Grab your favorite dessert. If you’re feeling up for it, make it yourself.

I have the New York Cheesecake from Trader Joe’s. YUMZ. 

7. LIGHT UP YOUR LIFE

IMG_6840

Light up your life, or your room. Don’t have a tree? Don’t worry about it, just hang those fairy lights on your wall. It makes such beautiful decoration.

I was so happy the first time I lit it up I just stood at the door staring at the lights for the longest time. 

8. NAILS

Nails

Be artistic, paint your nails. Or do some other crafty things. Or read the new book you’ve always wanted to get started on. It’s time to let loose and be creative. Add some shimmer into your life and that flower you’ve always wanted on your nails. They don’t have to be perfect.

On my fingernails is Revlon’s Beginner’s Luck (030). It’s a beautiful shimmery pink, gel formula. I topped up my ring finger with Sally Hansen’s Pixel Perfect (295). It’s a black and white splotchy shaped-themed nail decoration. On my toenails is Nicole by O.P.I, KardashianKolor edition. It’s a dark green color and I added 2 silver flowers on my big toes. 

9. HOT CHOCOLATE

IMG_6855

The perfect end to Christmas: Hot Chocolate. Watch your favorite Christmas movies while sipping hot chocolate. Spice things up by adding a candy cane! I love the minty taste in hot chocolate that doesn’t overwhelm my taste buds. If you like marshmallows, pop them in as well.


So there you go, this is how I would spend Christmas by myself! If you are reading this and are unfortunately celebrating Christmas alone, I’m sending you loads of warm hugs! Merry Christmas everyone!

Lx ❤

One thought on “How to celebrate Christmas by yourself

Leave a Reply

